Audio by Michael Sokolow

Mishnah Parah 7:7: One who wraps the rope around his hand [while drawing the water], it is valid [and not considered unrelated work]. And if he wraps it after [he finishes drawing the water], it is invalid. Rabbi Yose says: It was this [ruling] that they validated as a temporary teaching [as opposed that in the previous mishnah].

הַמְכַנֵּן אֶת הַחֶבֶל עַל יָד עַל יָד, כָּשֵׁר. וְאִם כִּנְּנוֹ בָאַחֲרוֹנָה, פָּסוּל. אָמַר רַבִּי יוֹסֵי, לָזֶה הִכְשִׁירוּ הוֹרָאַת שָׁעָה:

Mishnah Parah 7:8: If [after drawing water for the chatat] one hides a barrel to prevent it from breaking, or overturns it onto its mouth to dry it in order to fill it, it [the drawn water] is valid [since those action are not considered unrelated work]. If [he did these actions] in order to carry the sanctified [waters] in it, it [the drawn water] is invalid. If [between drawing the water and sanctifying it with ashes] one removes earthenware shards from a trough [in which he plans to sanctify the water] so that it will hold much water, it [the drawn water] is valid. But if [he removed the shards] so that they should not impede him when he wishes to empty out the water, it is invalid.

הַמַּצְנִיעַ אֶת הֶחָבִית שֶׁלֹּא תִשָּׁבֵר, אוֹ שֶׁכְּפָאָהּ עַל פִּיהָ עַל מְנָת לְנַגְּבָהּ לְמַלֹּאת בָּהּ, כָּשֵׁר. לְהוֹלִיךְ בָּהּ אֶת הַקִּדּוּשׁ, פָּסוּל. הַמְפַנֶּה חֲרָסִין מִתּוֹךְ הַשֹּׁקֶת בִּשְׁבִיל שֶׁתַּחֲזִיק מַיִם הַרְבֵּה, כְּשֵׁרִין. וְאִם בִּשְׁבִיל שֶׁלֹּא יִהְיוּ מְעַכְּבִין אוֹתוֹ בְשָׁעָה שֶׁהוּא זוֹלֵף אֶת הַמַּיִם, פָּסוּל:

To subscribe click here To unsubscribe, click here
To view our archived/previous mesechtos click here
To learn about our program for Kitzur Shulchan Aruch Yomi click here