Click here for audio

פרק ד משנה כב
הוא היה אומר

He [Rabbi Elazar Hakappar] would say,

הילודים למות "The born [are destined] to die,
והמתים לחיות the dead [are destined] to live,
והחיים לידון  and the living [are destined] to be judged.
לידע להודיע ולהיודע To know, make known and undestand

שהוא אל

that He is the Almighty,
הוא היוצר He is the Maker,
הוא הבורא He is the Creator,
הוא המבין He is the Understander,
הוא הדין He is the Judge,
הוא עד He is the Witness,
הוא בעל דין He is the Litigant,
והוא עתיד לדון and He is fated to judge.
ברוך הוא Blessed is He
 שאין לפניו לא עולה as before him there is no injustice,
ולא שכחה no forgetfulness,
ולא משוא פנים no bias,
ולא מקח שוחד and no deals of bribery,
שהכל שלו for all is His.
ודע שהכל לפי החשבון And know that everything is according to a reckoning,
ואל יבטיחך יצרך do not allow your inclination assure you
שבשאול בית מנוס לך that in the grave is a place of refuge for you,
שעל כרחך אתה נוצר as against your will you were created,
ועל כרחך אתה נולד against your will you were born,
ועל כורחך אתה חי against your will you live,
ועל כרחך אתה מת against your will you die,
ועל כרחך and against your will
אתה עתיד ליתן דין וחשבון you are fated to give a judgment and accounting
לפני מלך מלכי המלכים before the King who rules kings,
הקדוש ברוך הוא the Holy One Blessed is He."


פרק ה משנה א

בעשרה מאמרות א With ten utterances א
נברא העולם the world was created.
ומה תלמוד לומר And what does this come to teach?
והלוא במאמר אחד Surely in a single utterance
יכול להיבראות it could have been created.
אלא להפרע מן הרשעים Rather to collect from the wicked
שמאבדין את העולם who lose the world
שנברא בעשרה מאמרות which was created with ten utterances
וליתן שכר טוב

and to bestow optimal compensation

לצדיקים to the righteous
שמקימין את העולם who maintain the world
שנברא בעשרה מאמרות that was created with ten utterances.


הערות שוליים

א These ten utterances begin with בראשית ברא אלהים את השמים ואת הארץ.  Although this פסוק does not explicitly set forth an 'utterance', it says in (תהלים (לג:ו that "בדבר ה' השמים נעשו."  The next 9 according to the חדושי הגר"א are (ii) ויאמר אלהים יהי אור; (iii) ויאמר אלהים יהי רקיע בתוך המים; (iv) ויאמר אלהים יקוו המים; (v) ויאמר אלהים תדשא הארץ דשא; (vi) ויאמר אלהים יהי מארת ברקיע השמים; (vii) ויאמר אלהים ישרצו המים שרץ נפש חיה; (viii)  ויאמר אלהים תוצא הארץ נפש חיה למינה; (ix) ויאמר אלהים נעשה אדם; and (x) ויאמר אלהים הנה נתתי לכם את כל עשב זרע זרע אשר על פני כל הארץ.